Pre-mission jitters! And I’m not even the one leaving!

11830889_1618067938458295_1172946764_nIn two days my sister leaves on her mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints for the Atlanta, Georgia North Mission. I am filled with so many emotions at this point but mostly I am so excited for her! I am excited to watch her learn and grow both mentally and spiritually. As I listened to her farewell talk, which was wonderful by the way, I could not help but wonder how more amazing her homecoming talk is going to be. I am just excited to see her become the woman she has always had inside of her.

11012520_1594451417486614_729651280165604140_oWhile I know she is nothing but ready to leave and move on with her life to grander adventures, I am also a little sad because I know that I am going to miss her. She is my only sister. There was a point in fourth grade where my teacher told me that one day my sister would become my best friend and I remember thinking, Oh sure! Because at that point we fought like cats and dogs! Now I know what my teacher is talking about. I actually now enjoy spending time with my sister! We have girl dates and go to Cafe Zupas and get cupcakes and pretend we are judges from Cupcake Wars. We call each other up and talk about how we can’t believe what happened on our favorite TV show’s. She motivates me to work out because she is so diligent at it. At the beginning of this summer we went to St. George, Utah and ran a 5K together which is something I would never have done on my own. I am going to miss these moments!

2010

2010

Being someone who just hates change, one of my biggest anxieties about my sister leaving on her mission is that then one of my brothers will leave on his mission while she is still out and then another brother who is in college is going to move out of the house. My family is going to change and that just saddens me. I am close with my family and the thought of them not all being there when I got home makes my heart sink. Because of all of this my family took family

2015

2015

pictures together before everything changes. Looking at those pictures compared to the family pictures we took back in 2010 I realized how much my family has already changed. We are all so much older and I’m moved out and married so we have a new addition to the family. The two youngest boys I still see as little boys but looking at the pictures I realized they are almost young men now! Taking pictures made me realize that my family is always changing and growing and it’s okay. My dad keeps saying that he’s not sad by all the changes but just excited to see what the future holds for each of us. Times are a changing and that is okay!

11845892_1618067941791628_1022918822_nI have to say how proud I am of each and everyone of my siblings. The more I am around each one of them I realize how much greater of a person they are and I admire each one of them for different reasons! Here I am the oldest and suppose to be the role model for them but their testimonies and lives are instead truly examples to me of how I can be a better person.

11062786_858246894223869_384427802855448900_nI am especially proud of my sister for making the choice to serve the Lord and the people of Atlanta for a year and a half. I know she is going to make a great missionary and that there are people their waiting for her specifically because she will make a difference in their life with her peaceful testimony. I also know that there are people that are going to make a difference in her life and who will change her life for good.

~*~

Good luck on your mission! I love and miss you so much! 11824218_1618067931791629_1354459170_n

3 comments

Comments:

