A slight change of heart toward resolutions… slight!

new-years-resolutions-2014New Years Resolutions… yeah I don’t do them and never have. Why? Because I think they are stupid! If I do happen to make a resolution it lasts like a week or two then… it goes forgotten. I also know that I am not alone in feeling that way, so what is the point of resolutions?! Like I said, they are stupid!

Though, I had a minor change of heart today as I was doing my scripture study and came across a quote by Elder Robert D. Hales from the talk “Behold, We Count Them Happy Which Endure” saying,

We learn to endure to the end by learning to finish our current responsibilities, and we simply continue doing it all of our lives. We cannot expect to learn endurance in our later years if we have developed the habit of quitting when things get difficult now.

In my own life I have found that nothing is consistent. One moment I am healthy and the next I could care less. One moment I am a great wife and make sure my husband is well taken care of, then the next I lay in bed all day watching Netflix. One moment I am great at scripture study and saying my prayers then next thing I know, its been awhile since I have cracked open my scriptures.

UGH! I am a quitter! I give up when things get hard. If I can’t consistently endure anything now, then how am going to be able to endure when things get harder and then all the way to the end?

Okay… maybe… there is more to this New Years resolution idea then I have ever thought about before?

Now, I am not saying that I have to make a New Years resolution! I am saying that I should take my own goals in my life more seriously and not be so cynical of a holiday that encourages everyone to try a little harder to be a little better. Fine.

One of the best New Years resolutions I have ever heard of, was a lady who said that her goal was to focus on allowing others to make mistakes. That was mind blowing for me!

I realized that a goal does not have to be something huge! It just needs to be something to improve myself and something that I can work and build on for the rest of my life.

So, I guess what I am trying to say is, no, I am not making a New Years resolution! Haha! But, this new year coming is going to allow me to review my year and life to see something that I can work on. Where do I falter when things get hard? What is a goal I can make for life to help me become less of a quitter so I can better endure to the end? (Ha, see what I did there?) 😉

 

 

Comments:

