Proud to be a Harry Potter nerd!

2980_1660300604235028_3299851679014308825_nHarry Potter has been on my mind a lot lately. My little brothers have been watching the movies for the first time over these last couple of weeks, which has got my husband and I watching them again. Then, with with the amazing Alan Rickman passing away, I feel as if Harry Potter is everywhere. And you know what? I am totally okay with that!

Watching my brothers watch Harry Potter for the first time just reminds me of when I was their age and becoming enthralled with the series. I get giddy just watching them experience the magic for the first time!

When I was in third grade I hated reading! My parents could not get me to read anything if my life depended on it! Then, they introduced me to Harry Potter. I read the first book right before the movie came out. My parents promised me that if I finished the book they would take me to see the movie. Needless to say I read it and then every other Harry Potter book I could get my hands on.

306567267939I became so obsessed with Harry Potter that I would stay up till 3 in the morning every night reading the books over and over. My 4th book, and favorite of the series, actually fell apart. I would carry all the books with me everywhere! I slept with all of them under my pillow every night. I would even hide them under my mattress when I was in trouble because my mom would threaten to take them away from me when I was misbehaving.  

So, you get it, I was and still am a Harry Potter nerd. If you are a Harry Potter nerd, and if you are reading this then you most likely are, you know exactly what I am talking about! J. K. Rowling created a world that I was a part of. There was something magical about those books besides just being about magical people! That feeling swells within me every time I think about them.

Besides the scriptures, no other book has had so profound effect on my life. Harry Potter helped shape me into the person I am today. Because of it I found a love for reading and later when I started writing my own Harry Potter fan fiction I fell in love with writing. You would not be reading this if it was not for Harry Potter!

Harry Potter will always have a special place in my heart because my childhood took place in it. “Of course it [all happened inside my head], but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

(Just FYI… I love this video! It makes me so happy!)

 

2 comments

  1. From one Harry Potter nerd to another, welcome! Harry Potter and the entire fandom is such a place of comfort for me, and my Harry Potter themed tattoo is my absolute favorite. I’m glad to see that others feel the same way. Great post!

    Tazhiana
    tazhiluxe.com

    Liked by 1 person

Comments:

