A Special Witness (Day 8)

making-general-conference-meaningful-part-1-episode-51-2013-03-07As a child I hated general conference. It was soooo long and soooo boring. I could not stand it. The only good thing about it was getting to stay in my pj’s all day long.

As I’ve gotten older I have come to enjoy conference in a way that my younger self would never have understood. There is something amazing about listening to the prophet and his apostles speak. I can truly feel the spirit as they talk. Plus, they always say something that I truly needed to hear.

But more importantly, there is something so special and sacred that happens each conference that truly grows my testimony. In “The Living Christ” section eight, Joseph Smith does this thing:

Of Him the Prophet also declared: “And now, after the many testimonies which have been given of him, this is the testimony, last of all, which we give of him: That he lives! “For we saw him, even on the right hand of God; and we heard the voice bearing record that he is the Only Begotten of the Father…”

Ever since Joseph Smith, the prophets and apostles have been bearing their own special witness of the Lord, Jesus Christ. It is extremely powerful to listen to and I can literally feel the truth of their words as they speak them.

Listening to their special witness helps build my own testimony, but President Howard W. Hunter took it a step further in his talk “An Apostle’s Witness of Christ,” by saying:

zThe Lord’s invitation to follow him is extended to more persons than those who are ordained as special witnesses. The call is individual and personal, and it is compelling. We cannot stand forever between two opinions. Each of us must at some time face the crucial question: “Whom say ye that I am?” (Matt. 16:15.) Our personal salvation depends on our answer to that question and our commitment to that answer. Peter’s revealed answer was “Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.” (Matt. 16:16.) Many, many witnesses can give the identical answer by the same power, and I join with them in humble gratitude. But we must each answer the question for ourselves—if not now, then later; for at the last day, every knee shall bow and every tongue shall confess that Jesus is the Christ.

As much as I dislike having an eating disorder, depression, and anxiety I have realized that Christ has a personal call for me to be a witness of him. He gave me these difficult trials so I could come closer to him. Through them I have been gaining my own personal witness of him.

Read Day 9 of the 12 Days of CHRISTmas by clicking HERE

Read Day 7 of the 12 Days of CHRISTmas by clicking HERE

2 comments

Comments:

