Being Christlike (Day 3)

lds-caring-othersEvery morning I opened my eyes to the sound of someone telling me it was time to wake up. I would lie there for a second before changing into my hospital gown, that we would wear as we got our vitals taken, contemplating if getting up would be worth it today. The answer was always yes regardless of how grudgingly I felt it. There was one main thing that motivated me to get up on my worst day.

It is the thing that helps me through my brightest and darkest times. It is what continues to motivate me. It is what gives my life a greater purpose. So, what is this wonderful thing? Well, in section three of  “The Living Christ” it says:

Though sinless, He was baptized to fulfill all righteousness. He “went about doing good” (Acts 10:38), yet was despised for it. His gospel was a message of peace and goodwill. He entreated all to follow His example. He walked the roads of Palestine, healing the sick, causing the blind to see, and raising the dead. He taught the truths of eternity, the reality of our premortal existence, the purpose of our life on earth, and the potential for the sons and daughters of God in the life to come.

I am blessed, like everyone else, with Christ like qualities. I find that as I act and improve on them then I am following Jesus’s example. I am then blessed with having better connections with those around me, myself, and my Savior.

This is because following Christ’s example creates love which is everything.

2280579809_27fb011a03_oBeing locked in a treatment center is miserable, but the best part about it was all the people. I grew to truly love and care for each girl there. They all have a very special place in my heart and I will remember them forever. This wasn’t because we were forced to eat together, or share sinks, or because we were all stuck with each other all day every day. That is what made us sick of each other!

No, it was because we were Christlike to each other. We cried together.  Jesus wept (John 11:35). We truly listened to each other. The Lord hath heard the prayers of his people (Mosiah 27:14). We had hope in each other. The Lord our God did visit us with assurances that he would deliver us (Alma 58:10–11). And, we truly cared for each other. Yea, they spit upon him, and he suffereth it, because of his loving kindness and his long-suffering towards the children of men (1 Nephi 19:9).

Christ is the light of the world because of everything he did for us was out of love. As we continue to follow his example we will find more love and connection in our own life which has helped me through my darkest moments. Christ is love and we can too by being like him.

Check out #LightTheWorld to see what things you can do to “let your light so shine” this Christmas season by clicking HERE

Read Day 4 of the 12 Days of CHRISTmas by clicking HERE

Read Day 2 of the 12 Days of CHRISTmas by clicking HERE

2 comments

Comments:

