Death, the Conquered (Day 5)

6That night is such a vivid memory but at the same time a complete blur. There was a lot of crying to the point I didn’t even realize when I was or wasn’t anymore. I felt deeply sad. I had never before lost someone to death and didn’t know how to feel. 

Death is pretty inescapable. It is one thing that we all at some point have been impacted by in some way or another. Regardless, that doesn’t change the pain and hurt.

“The Living Christ”  section five says:

He rose from the grave to “become the firstfruits of them that slept” (1 Corinthians 15:20). As Risen Lord, He visited among those He had loved in life. He also ministered
among His “other sheep” (John 10:16) in ancient America. In the modern world, He and His Father appeared to the boy Joseph Smith, ushering in the long-promised “dispensation of the fulness of times” (Ephesians 1:10).

Losing my best friend in seventh grade was a really difficult challenge for me. I did not want her to die. I did not want to lose her. I could not fathom a life without her. Everyone kept saying that I would see her again. That death wasn’t the end. How was that possible when she wasn’t here next to me? I wanted to believe, but I didn’t know how.

Late one night I was alone in my room and felt just completely overwhelmed by sadness. I missed her so much I felt like my heart was going to burst out of my chest. I couldn’t bear her loss anymore!5733158786_ce9f015460_o

I then got on my knees in desperation and pleaded to know that she was okay. That she really was in a better place. That I would see her again just like everyone kept telling me.

It was then that I became encircled about with a warm happy feeling. At that moment I knew without a shadow of doubt that she was in a truly amazing and wonderful place. I knew that would see my best friend again. I could feel the truth that Christ really was resurrected and that I too would one day be resurrected just like him.

Knowing these things did not take away the pain. My heart still aches at times for her. But having gained a testimony of Christ’s resurrection I now have a new hope and comfort.

I too cry Hallelujah! Christ died for me, and lived again, because of that I will live again. I will have a celestial body and I won’t have struggle with mental illness ever again. I will be with those I love for all eternity. Hallelujah!

Read Day 6 of the 12 Days of CHRISTmas by clicking HERE

Read Day 4 of the 12 Days of CHRISTmas by clicking HERE

2 comments

Comments:

