Faith in Christ (Day 6)

man-studying-pondering-scriptures_1180174_inlYou want the truth? Okay, the answer is no. No, I haven’t. I never have seen Jesus Christ. I’ve felt his presence. I’ve read his words. But I have never seen him face to face.

The sixth part of the “The Living Christ” reads:

Of the Living Christ, the Prophet Joseph wrote: “His eyes were as a flame of fire; the hair of his head was white like the pure snow; his countenance shone above the brightness of the sun; and his voice was as the sound of the rushing of great waters, even the voice of Jehovah,

Joseph Smith saw God the Father and his son, Jesus Christ. I haven’t. Because of that, sometimes a voice deep down inside of me asks, “Well then, how do you really know he’s real?”

While in the eating disorder treatment center I was away from my husband. There were long periods of time where I wasn’t able see him. I could call him. I could email him but I could not see him.

Every time I talked to him he told me how much he loved me. As time went on, these words seemed to mean less and less. I was not with him. I could not see his love for me.

6010349612_b9a25f365cI became terrified that he didn’t love me anymore. I needed to see his love for myself. I voiced all my concerns to my poor husband who was just confused. He was doing everything he could to show he loved me. He talked to me everyday. He emailed me encouraging notes. He took care of everything at home so that I could focus on getting better. How could I not have realized his love for me? Why did I think that the only way to know that he loved me was to see him every moment of every day?

I had to put faith in my husband and notice the everyday ways he shared his love with me.

Now, I feel really embarrassed sharing that story with you, but it relates. Like my husbands love I don’t have to see my Savior to know that he is real.

Elder Sterling W. Sill addressed this point in a talk entitled “Have You Ever Seen the Lord?”.

Although I have not seen the Lord in this life, yet I know His word. I know of the great Atonement made on behalf of all of God’s children. I know about the Lord’s glorious, celestial resurrection, a resurrection similar to that which He has promised to all of those who keep His commandments. I know the course of that strait and narrow way and how to follow it so that we might qualify for the celestial kingdom.

On one occasion the Lord said to Thomas, “Because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: [more] blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.” (John 20:29.) The Lord himself promised, “Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.” (Matt. 5:48.) With all of these advantages, I should be able to make it on my own until He comes in clouds of glory for His millennial reign upon the earth when every eye shall see Him and every heart shall rejoice in His blessings.

In preparation for that great event, let us strive to get a more radiant light in our eyes, a greater glow in our hearts, and a finer fire in our souls. Then at that day, when we do see Him for ourselves, we too can be made glorious.

I testify that I know that Jesus Christ is real being. I know that one day I will stand in his presence and see him face to face. But that day is not today, and that is okay.

Read Day 7 of the 12 Days of CHRISTmas by clicking HERE

Read Day 5 of the 12 Days of CHRISTmas by clicking HERE

2 comments

Comments:

